Getting a DUI in Arizona is serious business and carries severe penalties. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, you may have to perform community service or pay a fine, attend alcohol screening and education programs, and install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. If this is your first offense, you are likely to face a minimum of a 90-day license suspension. However, the penalties are much steeper for second and third convictions or if you were driving while under the influence of extreme alcohol and/or drugs, with a minor in your vehicle, or after refusing a breath or blood test.URL :check out these things to do
Preserving Your Rights
The prosecution must prove that you were driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs, or vapor-releasing substances and that your intoxication was the cause of unsafe driving. The prosecution will use field sobriety tests, a blood or breath test, or both to establish this evidence. Your attorney can challenge the validity of these tests or argue that you were not under the influence and did not drive dangerously.
Your attorney should also contact the police department immediately after your arrest to request a copy of the report and any surveillance footage they may have. If the officer marked that your privilege to drive was suspended, you must ask for a hearing within 15 days or risk losing it forever. You will also want to make sure your address is up-to-date with the Arizona MVD so that you receive any notices regarding future suspensions or other actions on your license.